Another post from How Not To Write

Me with Mark Twain, at the National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium in Dubuque, IA, 1 August 2008. I didn't learn anything about revision that day, but my fellow Samuel was pleasant company nonetheless.

I’m in the midst of some frustrating revision right now–two stories giving me headaches and another taunting me from the shadows, though I did pull off a long but good revision of a novel excerpt last week–so this new post from Jamie Grove on revision hell is well timed.  Wonder if Jamie actually saw my request a few days ago for more frequent posts at How Not To Write.

I’ve written on this idea before myself, but if you want the gist, Jamie is making a case for knowing when the quit revising.  But, as before, you don’t want the gist, because then you’d miss out on all the cool quotes from Mark Twain Jamie includes.  So go read the post in its entirety.

Published by Samuel Snoek-Brown

I write fiction and teach college writing and literature. I'm the author of the story collection There Is No Other Way to Worship Them, the novel Hagridden, and the flash fiction chapbooks Box Cutters and Where There Is Ruin.

2 thoughts on “Another post from How Not To Write

  1. Samuel! Thanks so much for the kind words on both of your posts!

    I didn’t see your post on my Dickens article but I just read it an I’ll endeavor to write more. 2010 was a tough year for my writing, but I’m making a fresh start in 2011.

    1. Hey, Jamie! Glad to see you here! Looking forward to more this year–I totally hear you on the tough writing from 2010. It was an up and down year for me, too, but it was frantic either way, and there’s something difficult about the turnover here in January that makes me want to take a break, so I’m working hard to keep motivated. Your sudden burst of new posts is helping a lot. 🙂

Leave a comment